Sunday, April 11, 2010

Forty Year Wait...Congrats Henrik Sedin!

Henrik Sedin, winner of the Art Ross Trophy
the NHL's leading scorer 2009/10 season
112 points! (29 goals, 83 assists)

by Lisa Ovens

Since the 1947/48 NHL season, the Art Ross trophy has been awarded 62 times, and only 26 different players have won it. basically, the Art Ross has been bunches! For example...

Gordie Howe, 4 times - 1950 to 1954
Phil Esposito- 4 times 1970 to 1974
Guy Lafleur- 3 times 1975-1978

Between 1980 and 1994, it was either Wayne Gretzky or Mario Lemieux taking the scoring title. (Career wins:Lemieux six, Gretzky ten)

But since the Vancouver Canucks franchise entered the league in 1970, not one Canuck has won this award. Not one Canuck has won any of the major league scoring awards.

So it means so much to this Vancouver Canucks fan to see Henrik Sedin win the Art Ross Trophy for the first time. Woot! Scary to think what the Sedins could have accomplished if Daniel hadn't been out 19 games due to injury.

Daniel Sedin, wondertwin

Daniel Sedin still managed to put up good numbers (29 goals, 85 points), including a hat trick against the Calgary Flames during last night's final regular season game.

Next year's plan...Daniel wins the Maurice "Rocket" Richard, and Henrik takes the Art Ross again!

Go Nucks :o)

No comments:

Post a Comment